Deepwater Horizon

The more I watch Peter Berg’s filmography the more I fall in love with every single moment he captures on screen. Berg truly has am intricate vision when it comes to reinventing general narratives. Deepwater Horizon is filled with such rich visuals that it almost overwhelms you. Berg knows how to show the audience rather than tell them what is happening and I really appreciated that. Many people have absolutely no clue what happens out there on the oil rigs. Berg manages to breakdown each piece of the structure in order for audiences to understand the grave nature of this particular event.

Deepwater Horizon is one of the most impactful and action -packed films that I have ever watched. It kept me at the edge of my seat and it opened my mind to new ideas, Berg opened my senses and his images resonated deep within me. It is evident that Berg has met his match with having Mark Wahlberg by his side because of how passionate they are about every project they work on together. Like Lone Survivor, there is that underlying sense of community, that sense of faith in humanity. Berg is easily becoming one of my favourite directors because of how wonderful a storyteller he is, he creates this rugged atmosphere that is rough around the edges but has a heartfelt centre. Deepwater Horizon is an excellent addition to his filmography and I cannot wait to see what he has in store for us in the near future with Patriots Day.

Leave a Reply

