Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

I would like to start off by saying that the Star Wars franchise is by far the most confusing saga that I’ve ever seen. Having these films out of chronological order is stressful and unnecessary and it is what turned me off the most before I actually sat down and watched them. Rogue One is a prequel to the sequels – I know it’s tricky – and it did a pretty good job with revealing how to destroy the Death Star.

The cast of characters were well written and I have to admit I got emotional because of how racial diverse the cast was. Representation in cinema is extremely important and it was wonderful to see the Rebel Alliance filled with so many different races uniting together to take down the Imperial Alliance. We had some light laughs with the new robot K-2SO who was very sarcastic and blunt. Diego Luna had great chemistry with Felicity Jones and I enjoyed the scenes they had together. The real star of this film was Donnie Yen who played Chirrut Imwe who believed in the force so strongly that even though he was blind he heard and felt everything. He was an incredible edition to the Star Wars franchise and he will definitely be a highlight for years to come.

I thought it was a nice transitional film from Revenge of the Sith to A New Hope. Yes Darth Vader himself makes an appearance and I really do love him as a villain I hope one day (I know this is getting excessive) that we do get a standalone after Anakin becomes Darth Vader, I think there is so much story there! Also the CGI characters that were brought back was a nice addition to accurately continue the story so there is a seamless flow to the saga. All in all they did a great job with the characters, that was Rogue One’s strength, the representation and the character interactions.

Leave a Reply

